Captivated

I am choosing to write about “The Library Card”. I thought it was a very well written autobiography. It completely captured me. I kept reading faster and I couldn’t wait to see what happened next. What book he would read next and how he would learn from it, how it would affect him. Even though I am not a big reader I know what it can be like being caught up in a book. You stay up late just to see what happens next. You become the main character. You fall in love with prince charming. The book almost becomes your own separate world. Richard’s short autobiography was like a book in that; I couldn’t wait to see what happened next. I couldn’t look away from my computer screen, it captivated me. Although I didn’t truly care for the end, what happened to him? Did he go up North? Did he follow in his father’s footsteps? We never find out. I do wish there was a clearer ending, one that was more satisfying.

 With that said, I think Richard did an amazing job of capturing, at least my, attention. With my literacy autobiography I hope to do the same. I want people to not be able to put down the paper because they want to see what happens to me next. Although, I do think one not about literacy would be more exciting this will have to do for now. Hopefully I can describe my feelings on paper to the point where the reader can feel them too. I want the reader to take a walk in my shoes. For them to feel my struggles, my highs and my lows, my love for something, and my deep hatred for other things. That’s what I hope to accomplish.

4 thoughts on “Captivated

  1. I wrote about “The Library Card” too, but I took away a completely different feeling. I loved the way “Genesis” was written, but didn’t connect very well with the actual story. I liked, the story of “The Library Card”, but felt it was written a bit boringly. Oh well, at least you felt the same on one level. Books are so amazing that 26 letters can be combined in millions of ways to make us laugh, cry, or stay up hours past when we needed sleep. I remember the first time I cried for a book was when my mother was reading the “Little House on the Prairie” series and the little dog Jack died. Books have such power and you really emphasized that in your post. I’m glad you also have forgone sleep in order to finish a great book; I’m not the only one!

    Like

  2. I think “The Library Card” is a very well autobiography too. And there is no doubt that the author has a very good writing skills. He could capture our attention and let us keep reading his stories. As you said, Capturing is one of the keys to write a good autobiography. But beyond that, I think that the autobiography also needs plentiful details in order to attract readers’ mind.

    Like

  3. I want to do that with my writing too by drawing people in a keeping them enchanted by my words on the paper. I’m not sure how interested people will be in my paper, but I hope that I can draw people into it.

    Like

  4. I am the same way when it comes to reading. I’m not a big reader, but that’s not to say I don’t like it. When I find something I am interested in I find it hard to put it down, and I kind of got that sense with this narrative. Like you, I felt Richard did a great job of grabbing my attention, and part of that probably had to do with the fact that he was writing about an experience I found interesting but couldn’t really relate to, so I was interested in seeing how it turned out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

