Same Sex Marriage

My whole life I’ve grown up in a Christian home. Naturally, I’ve heard just about everything Christians can say about two same sex people wanting to be together. Most people are hear from have their opinions set in stone. But not me. I’m not sure what to think. I have so many contradicting opinions in my mind that I don’t know which one to go with.

Part of me thinks that it is totally wrong. Man and woman is how this world started and that is how it should be. But then, if two people love each other, who am I to tell two people in love that it’s wrong. And besides, it isn’t hurting or effecting me any. Even in the Bible, God tells us to love one another. God doesn’t want us to all be cookie-cutters. If someone is gay or lesbian that doesn’t make them wrong. It might just make them different from you think to be the norm. That still doesn’t mean you shouldn’t love them. They are people just like us.

Overall, I still don’t know what I believe. I guess if it came down to me deciding right now I would say it is wrong. Would I ever do it? No. Because for me, personally, I don’t feel like it is right. But if other people do, who am I to tell them that an all-loving God didn’t intend that. I am definitely still on the fence about what I believe (if you can’t tell). But, I guess it’s a personal decision between you and God. My opinion shouldn’t make or break what people believe.

2 thoughts on “Same Sex Marriage

  1. I love how you have an opinion yet you are still open minded to other things. I also believe it what you said how just because you made a decision donut’s mean that it should make it or break it for what other people believe. Great post! 🙂

    Like

  2. I, in contrast to you, have enough opinion to write a short novel on the subject, but I shall try to be brief. True, we are called to love all people, but I am also 100% convinced that gay marriage is wrong. Stop right there if anyone is tempted to call me a hater and a hypocrite (Which seems to be the first response whenever I voice this opinion)! Though I think they are wrong, I do not have anything against gays and lesbians as people. As the old saying goes, “love the sinner, hate the sin.” I don’t treat them any less as people, but I do think that marriage was meant to be between man and wife and that same sex marriage is wrong.

    Like

Leave a Reply

